Tutor FAQs

How does the payment process work?

Using our app, you can issue a request for authorisation to take Direct Debit payments from a client in just a few clicks. We email your client a link, which opens up a page containing all your terms, your cancellation policy and a payment authorisation page. To authorise, clients accept your terms and enter their bank account details securely. Once authorised, you can collect payments from your clients automatically after each lesson. We will notify your clients every time a new payment is taken - they don’t need to lift a finger.

What will I see on my bank statement when my client pays me?

Payments made for your tutoring will appear as GoCardless on your bank statement.

How long does it take to receive my payment?

Due to the nature of the Direct Debit scheme, you will be paid 5 working days after clicking "Get Paid", if clicked before 4pm. On your very first request to a new client, the process takes a day or so longer - this is because direct debit requests to a new mandate take an extra day to process.

Is The Tutors Network secure?

All data stored on our app and servers complies with GDPR legislation. Please see our T&Cs and Privacy Policy for more information. Direct debit is the most secure way to request payments for the services you rendered. Your clients are fully protected by the Direct Debit Guarantee.

A payment has failed, what shall I do?

99% of payment failures are due to insufficient funds in your client’s account. Please instruct your client to add funds and then you can retry the payment directly from your lessons in the app. The Tutors Network will automatically retry payments on your behalf. If payments continue to fail you should speak with your client directly to resolve this.

A client has cancelled a lesson - how do I enforce my policy?

When you enter a lesson card, you have the ability to simply delete the lesson OR charge for the cancellation. We will then collect funds from the client automatically. Remember - charging for cancellations is always at your discretion.

I forgot to add a lesson and therefore haven’t been paid for it. What can I do?

Don’t worry! You can add lessons that happened in the past and charge clients for them in the normal way.

I forgot to rearrange a lesson, and it happened/is happening at a different time/date. What can I do?

No problem. You can rearrange the lesson from within the lesson card. If the app thinks the lesson time has passed, you can instantly complete and charge for the lesson.

I charged the client for a lesson, but it didn’t happen. What can I do?

If you mistakenly charged the client for a lesson that didn’t actually go ahead, we suggest you rearrange the lesson via the lesson card. The client will not be charged twice. If you want to delete the lesson entirely (as no more lessons are going ahead), please arrange to refund the client directly. We cannot issue refunds on your behalf.

I marked a lesson as paid - can I undo this?

No. Lessons marked as paid are irreversible.